The penalties associated with driving under the influence in New Jersey become increasingly serious if you were previously convicted of the same charge. Because the punishments connected with such a crime have the capacity to affect numerous aspects of your life, it is important to recognize how future arrests and subsequent convictions may impact you and your life.
If you are facing a second or third DUI conviction in New Jersey, you may be subject to the following penalties.
Penalties for a second DUI in New Jersey
In New Jersey, you can expect penalties for a second DUI offense if your second conviction occurs within 10 years of your first. Depending on the circumstances surrounding your case, you may be sentenced to serve anywhere from 48 hours to 90 days behind bars. You will also lose your driver's license for two years and serve 30 days of community service. Additionally, you must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, which must remain operable throughout your license suspension period, and then for one to three years afterward. Penalties also include spending time in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center at your own expense and paying other various fines and fees, including contributions to a drunk driving fund and a neighborhood services fund.
Penalties for a third DUI in New Jersey
If you are convicted of a third DUI in New Jersey within 10 years of your second offense, the license revocation period extends to 10 years. As is the case with a second offense, you must install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and the device must remain operable for one to three years after your driving privileges are restored. You should also be prepared to serve 180 days behind bars, pay numerous conviction-related fines and complete up to 90 days of community service.
If you have a prior DUI conviction and are facing new DUI charges, it's wise to discuss your case with an attorney.